The Role of President

The president of the American Studies Association is elected to a three-year commitment by the voting members of the association. After an initial year as president-elect with participation in the Executive Committee, the president serves a one-year term. The president presides over meetings of the National Council, the Executive Committee, and the association. The president also formulates policies and projects for presentation to the Council and to fulfill the vision and goals of the association. A one-year term as past president completes the three-year commitment.

President 2021-2022: Cathy J. Schlund-Vials

Cathy J. Schlund-Vials has been a member of the ASA for more than two decades and was most recently the President of the Association for Asian American Studies (AAAS). Cathy was a Board of Trustees Distinguished Professor of English and Asian/Asian American Studies at the University of Connecticut. At UConn, Cathy was also the director of the Asian and Asian American Studies Institute (AAASI) for ten years and served as the Associate Dean for Humanities and Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion in the university’s College of Liberal Arts and Sciences. She now teaches in the Center for Asian American Studies (CAAS) at the University of Texas at Austin. Read more

Immediate Past President 2020-2021: Dylan Rodríguez

Dylan Rodríguez is the 2020-2021 President of the American Studies Association and a Professor at the University of California, Riverside. He is completing his second term as the faculty-elected Chair of the UC Riverside Academic Senate (2016-2020). After completing his Ph.D. in Ethnic Studies at UC Berkeley in 2001, Dylan spent the first sixteen years of his career in the Department of Ethnic Studies, serving as Chair from 2009-2016. He joined the Department of Media and Cultural Studies in 2017.  Dylan’s thinking, writing, teaching, and scholarly activist work examine how historical regimes and logics of racial and racial-colonial violence become normalized features of everyday state, cultural, and social formations. Read More

Past Presidents

Scott Kurashige, 2019-2020
Roderick A. Ferguson, 2018-2019
Kandice Chuh, 2017-2018
Robert Warrior, 2016-2017
David Roediger, 2015-2016
Lisa Duggan, 2014-2015
Curtis Marez, 2013-2014
Matthew Frye Jacobson, 2012-2013
Priscilla Wald, 2011-2012
Ruth Wilson Gilmore, 2010-2011
Kevin K. Gaines, 2009-2010
Philip J. Deloria, 2008-2009
Vicki L. Ruiz, 2007-2008
Emory Elliott, 2006-2007
Karen Halttunen, 2005-2006
Shelley Fisher Fishkin, 2004-2005
Amy Kaplan, 2003-2004
Stephen H. Sumida, 2002-2003
George Sanchez, 2001-2002
Michael Frisch, 2000-2001
Mary C. Kelley, 1999-2000
Janice Radway, 1998-1999
Mary Helen Washington, 1997-1998
Patricia Nelson Limerick, 1996-1997
Elaine Tyler May, 1995-1996
Paul Lauter, 1994-1995
Cathy N. Davidson, 1993-1994
Cecelia Tichi, 1992-1993
Alice Kessler-Harris, 1991-1992
Martha Banta, 1990-1991
Allen F. Davis, 1989-1990
Linda K. Kerber, 1988-1989
Lois W. Banner, 1986-1987
Michael Cowan, 1984-1985
Sacvan Bercovitch, 1982-1983
Robert F. Berkhofer, Jr., 1980-1981
Wilcomb E. Washburn, 1978-1979
Leo Marx, 1976-1977
William H. Goetzmann, 1974-1975
Daniel Aaron, 1972-1973
Robert H. Walker, 1970-1971
Daniel J. Boorstin, 1969
Norman Holmes Pearson, 1968
John Hope Franklin, 1967
Russel Blaine Nye, 1965-1966
Ralph Henry Gabriel, 1963-1964
William Charvat, 1962
Ray Allen Billington, 1960-1961
Willard Thorp, 1958-1959
George Rogers Taylor, 1956-1957
Robert E. Spiller, 1954-1955
Charles Barker, 1953
Carl Bode, 1951-1952