About the Yasuo Sakakibara Prize

The Yasuo Sakakibara Prize honors the best paper presented by an international scholar at the ASA Annual Meeting, November 8-11, 2018, in Atlanta, Georgia. The awardee receives $500. The awardee will be announced at the annual awards ceremony of the American Studies Association, November 9, 2018.

The prize honors Yasuo Sakakibara, Professor Emeritus of Economics and first chair of the Graduate School in American Studies at Doshisha University, and a past president of the Japanese Association for American Studies.

Eligibility Requirements and Application Procedures

International scholars who have had papers accepted for the annual meeting and who are registered for the annual meeting may compete for this award. The winning paper may deal with any aspect of American history, culture, or society. The winning author must be a member of the American Studies Association or an affiliated international American Studies Association.

To apply for the Yasuo Sakakibara Prize, complete this application form and upload the conference paper. Papers should be 10-12 pages in length (approximately 3,500 words), including citations and notes. Unedited dissertation chapters or seminar-length papers are not acceptable. Illustrations are not counted as part of the 10-12 page limit and may be uploaded in a separate PDF file. Please include a cover page with author's name, institutional affiliation, paper title, and contact information.  Deadline for submission is October 7, 2018.

This Year's Winner (2016)

The Yasuo Sakakibara was not awarded this year.

Past Winners 2002-2015

  • 2016: Chien-Ting Lin, National Central University, Taiwan, "Buddha Bless America: Militarized Medical Humanitarianism and Cold War Humanism"
  • 2015: Kirsty Robertson, University of Western Ontario, Canada, "Oil Futures/Petro-Fabrics"
  • 2014: Mary Chapman, University of British Columbia, "Playing in the Mediascape: A Pseudonymous Travelogue by Sui Sin Far/Edith Eaton"
  • 2013: Ethan Blue, University of Western Australia, "The Deportation Special: Mobile Carceral Space and the Emergence of Mass Deportation"
  • 2012: Leslie Paris, University of British Columbia, "'˜The Mess They Leave Behind': American Children and Environmental Activism, 1962-1980"
  • 2011: Ira Dworkin, The American University in Cairo (Egypt), "George Washington Williams, King Leopold II, and African American Emigration to the Congo"
  • 2010: Chris Lee, University of British Columbia, "New Criticism as Modernization"
  • 2009: Leslie Paris, University of British Columbia, "Happily Ever After: Reading Free to Be ... You and Me"
  • 2008: Chih-ming Wang, Academia Sinica, Taiwan, "How does America Mean in Chinese? Overseas Student Writing and Trans-Pacific American Studies"
  • 2007: No selection
  • 2006: Mary Chapman, University of British Columbia, Canada, "Sui Sin Far and the Discourses of the American and Chinese Suffrage Movements in the 1910's"
  • 2005: Finis Dunaway, Trent University, Canada, "Gas Masks, Pogo, and the Ecological Indian: Earth Day and the Visual Politics of American Environmentalism"
  • 2004: Lily Cho, University of Western Ontario, Canada, "Seeing through Smoke: Situating the Coolie within the Discourse of Freedom"
  • 2003: Min-Jung Kim, Ewha Woman's University, Seoul, Korea, "Nation, Immigration, and National Identity in Ronyoung Kim's Clay Walls"
  • 2002: Joanne M. Mancini, University of Sussex, United Kingdom, "The Country Age: Globalization and Modernity in an American Region"