Friday, October 23, 2020 - 1:00pm

A small group of American Studies chairs recently started meeting to discuss the possibility of holding conversations with folks in similar positions across the U.S. and beyond. Considering the current challenges to higher ed—and in particular the field of American Studies and related fields—we believe that it is time to share resources, ideas, and support with one another as colleagues and leaders in the field.  Our idea is to convene a few meetings per semester that can bring us together in open dialogue around a theme that affects us all. Although we realize that no one is looking to add more Zoom meetings to their lives, we really do think that these conversations can be engaging and informative alternatives to the typical work calls.

The first “big call” will take place via Zoom on Friday, October 23rd, at 1pm EST / 12pm CST / 11am MST / 10am PST 

Drawing on a big question with which many of us are dealing, the subject of the meeting will be graduate admissions. Given the financial crises many of our colleges and universities are now experiencing, what is your department doing about grad admissions? Are you pausing or going on as usual? What are the fairest and most ethical ways to provide graduate training in a pandemic—and in the current job market? Even if your program is  focused solely on undergraduates, the matter of graduate education affects us all and will undoubtedly shape the future of American Studies.   

This will be an open discussion: no panelists, no screenshared powerpoints, a light agenda. And no preparation required. Just bring your own experiences and ideas to the table. We also intend to have an open conversation about issues that we can tackle in future calls. Sharon Holland will moderate.  

To RSVP, please use this google formWe will be in touch with instructions for accessing the meeting.

We hope to see you October 23rd meeting and at future meetings.  

Community announcements and events are services that are offered by the ASA to support the organizing efforts of critical constituency groups. They do not reflect the decisions or actions of the association’s governance bodies, the National Council or Executive Committee. Questions should be directed to the committee, caucus, or chapter that has authored and posted this notice.