Executive Director

John Stephens, PhD

John Stephens, ASA Executive Director
Dr. John F. Stephens, PhD, has served as Executive Director of the American Studies Association since 1983. He has served on the Board of the National Humanities Alliance, as a Delegate to the American Council of Learned Societies Conference of Administrative Officers, and Chair of the Board of Informed Meetings Exchange. He has also served as a consultant (in field) for: the Office of the Special Assistant to the Governor, Albany, New York; the American Council of Learned Societies; the Council for the International Exchange of Scholars; the National Endowment for the Humanities; the National Archives; the U.S. Department of the Interior; the Public Broadcasting Service; the National Trust for Historic Preservation; and the U.S. Department of Education. Additionally, he served as Director of the Regional Preservation Office, Virginia Historic Landmarks Commission and Research Associate at the Fernand Braudel Center for the Study of Economies, Historical Systems, and Civilizations. Dr. Stephens taught at Binghamton University, the George Washington University, Brooklyn College, St. Mary’s College of Maryland and Empire State College. He has co-authored articles in urban archeology and urban planning, as well as contributed to state and federal resource protection plans. He holds a PhD in History from Binghamton University. 

Dictionary of International Biography
Who's Who in America
Who's Who in the East
Who's Who in American Education
PhD awarded with distinction (1977)
Fulbright-Hays Fellowship to Spain (1974-75)
Spanish Government Research Fellowship (1974-75)

The Office of the Executive Director

The Office of the Executive Director (OED) is located in Washington, D.C. and is staffed by an assistant director and two graduate student assistants.

Assistant Executive Director:
Deborah Kimmey is responsible for electronic projects, development, and community relations and resources.

Convention Coordinators: Brienne Adams (University of Maryland, 2019-2021), Miguel Amaguaña (University of Maryland, 2021-2023), and Yvonne Bramble (University of Maryland, 2021-2022) assist in coordinating session management, special events, and other programming at the annual meeting.